Stay Al;ve: The Story Behind My First Tattoo

“The sun will rise, and we will try again” Twenty-One Pilots–“Truce”.

Last Thursday, I finally got my first tattoo. I’ve wanted to do this since July of last year, so I decided to not put if off any longer. Like any other tattoo, mine has a story behind it. In fact, there are multiple reasons why I chose to get “Stay Al;ve” inked on my left arm.

Several of you have heard of Project Semicolon, right? You probably have; the semicolon has been a famous tattoo trend for quite some time. The semicolon is a representation of continuing life rather than ending it. A writer can end a sentence with a period or continue it with a semicolon. Many people are getting semicolon tattoos to raise suicide awareness (especially those who are suicide survivors). I think this is great; you already know that I’m passionate about suicide prevention and mental health awareness. This brings me to why I incorporated the semicolon into my tattoo.

If you have read my previous blogs, or you know me personally, you know that I have dealt with depression, anxiety, and suicidal thoughts for years and still do. I tried taking my own life 4 years ago, and I came close to attempting suicide again around this time last year. Fortunately, I found that a lot of people care for me and want me to be happy, so I started to turn my life around. I have learned that there is a lot to live for: family, friends, goals, good music, and so on. I learned that things will get better as long as I stay alive. There have already been a couple of people who thought that my tattoo was referring to the song “Stayin’ Alive” by the Bee Gees; I do find that extremely humorous, but that’s not the song we’re talking about.

Early in my still-continuing recovery process, I ran into a song by Twenty-One Pilots, one of my favorite music groups, called “Truce”. The lyrics spoke to me like no other song has ever done. If you listen to the song (I will post a link at the end of this writing), you find that it is about a person with suicidal thoughts who has long nights. Almost everyone living with suicidal thoughts can relate to this song. The chorus says, “Stay alive, stay alive for me. You will die, but now your life is free. Take pride in what is sure to die.” This song has given me hope; it tells me, and you, that it’s going to be okay as long as we never give up, because we are capable of doing great things with our lives. Each day is a new day and a new opportunity: “The sun will rise, and we will try again.” Now, I can look at my arms, especially during hard times, and remember this.

I wanted my first tattoo to be extra special, and it definitely was: the semicolon along with a phrase from my favorite song. I wasn’t sure if tattoos were going to be my kind of thing, but I’m in love with the one I have now. Maybe I’ll get another one? Not anytime soon, but definitely down the road. Thank you to everyone who read this today and have shown me continuous support. I hope that, one day, somebody sees my tattoo and asks about the story behind it, and I hope that my story will help them. Always remember to “Stay Alive”.

 

3 thoughts on “Stay Al;ve: The Story Behind My First Tattoo

  1. I love this. I don’t have any tattoos yet, but I do plan on my first one to be that semicolon. It’s an important statement! And I’m glad you are still here to be able to share this part of your journey. And the song is perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome!! I don’t have any tattoos (yet), but I’ve been thinking about it over the past few years. I think the semi-colon is perfect!! 👏🏼👏🏼. I hadn’t heard of that project before, but it’s amazing and uplifting. What an excellent choice for a first tattoo! It’s one of those things you’ll never get tired of, and it’ll never be obsolete or outdated. And the song is a perfect match for the vibe. I love everything about this! 🤗👊🏼💖

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

